Co-Chairs Salma Hayek, Jeremy Renner


Ceremony to premiere on IFC
Saturday, February 23 at 10:00 pm ET/PT

LOS ANGELES (January 4, 2013) – Film Independent Co-Presidents Sean Mc Manus and Josh Welsh jointly announced that actors Salma Hayek and Jeremy Renner will serve as honorary Co-Chairs for the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards. The nonprofit, that also produces the Los Angeles Film Festival and Film Independent at LACMA film series bestows the Co-Chair honor to those who exemplify outstanding artistic achievement and embody Film Independent’s mission to nurture and support independent filmmaking. Past Chairs include Halle Berry, Tom Cruise, Benicio Del Toro, Robert Duvall, Jodie Foster, Danny Glover, Harvey Keitel, Nicole Kidman, Ang Lee, Julianne Moore, Martin Scorsese and John Travolta.

“It is an honor to have both Salma and Jeremy join us as Co-Chairs of the 2013 Film Independent Sprits Awards,” said Film Independent Co-President Mc Manus. “Both continue to demonstrate their commitment to independent filmmaking and believe in the importance of supporting independent film as an artistic form of expression and encouraging the next generation of filmmakers.”

Hayek and Renner will attend the Spirit Awards Nominee Brunch on January 12 at BOA restaurant in West Hollywood where they will announce Film Independent’s grant winners for 2013. The event precedes the 28th Film Independent Spirit Awards which will take place as a daytime luncheon in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica on Saturday, February 23 with the premiere broadcast airing later that evening at 10:00 pm ET/PT on IFC.

Academy Award® Nominee Hayek has proven herself as a prolific actress, producer, and director, in both film and television. She received an Academy Award® Nomination, a Golden Globe® Nomination, a SAG Nomination, and a BAFTA Nomination for Best Actress in the title role in Julie Taymor’s Frida. Academy Award® Nominee Renner continues to turn in career defining performances, starting back in 2002 when he was nominated for a Film Independent Spirit Award for the title role in the film Dahmer. He received Academy Award® Nominations and SAG Nominations for his work in The Hurt Locker as well as The Town, for which he also earned a Golden Globe® Nomination.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards returns this year with longtime executive producer Diana Zahn-Storey. Her production team for this year’s Spirit Awards includes Director and Producer Chris Donovan; Producer Shawn Davis, who has been a part of the show and produced the Spirit Awards for 10 years; and Producer John Hamilton, who has produced the Spirit Awards for 6 years.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards are sponsored by Premier Sponsors Piaget, Jameson® Irish Whiskey and Lincoln, and Principal Sponsor Stella Artois. WireImage is the Official Photographer and PR Newswire is the Official Breaking News Service of Film Independent.

For more information on submission guidelines, voting, media and publicist credentials, and the history of the Spirit Awards, please visit